Learning Outcome #3 Reflection

Randy Otis
Learning Outcome #3 Reflection
11/6/2012

While writing this research paper I conducted a systematic inquiry of an important topic that was relevant to a younger generation of women watching music videos. Body image issues have always plagued young women, especially in a time where music videos, magazines, television shows and movies all portray women in an unrealistic manner that can be not only offensive but demoralizing to young women’s body images.
This research paper demonstrates that I was able to conduct a systematic inquiry by finding empirical data on how many young women were watching music videos. Once I conducted the research I was able to compare that to prior testimonies and research done regarding the negative body image effects that this programming was having on young females. This process of applying the scientific method to research showed my ability to take data collected from other research done, and formulate my own research question and data collection process. I was able to apply a research method of using a questionnaire based off of the Likert Scale to come to a conclusion. This process of assigning the Likert Scale to my qualitative data showed my understanding of research methodology and how specific theory and methods are applied to certain topics or questions.
In my current job as a Business Development analyst, I analyze many different sets of data to dig into service issues, and pro actively prevent problems. This class was a building block for understanding how analyzing data can lead to problem resolution. Finding the right set of data, or research in this case was very important in order to formulate a research question.

One skill I was able to exhibit was the skill of conducting research through a questionnaire. At the time I felt that formulating questions that would quantify answers was a strength of mine. Asking the right questions is very important when trying to understand the true meaning of how someone feels about your topic or question. This project helped me understand that wording questions correctly can ultimately help your subjects/sample answer the question effectively. If there’s confusion while reading the question it can significantly change the subjects answer, and not allow them to fully disclose information. When I conducted my experiment I was able to use a relevant music video that most of the sample group would know and understand. This process clearly shows I was able to understand my audience prior to conducting my experiment.
This skill has helped me in my career. From a sales perspective it’s important to ask my customers the right questions to get information that you may not be able to come right out and ask about. For example, when trying to find out who your competition is, you might ask a customer what others are doing right or wrong. Through discussion you may be able to get information about your competition that your customer may not have wanted to disclose originally. I developed a skill of understanding my audience and being able to formulate questions for them based off of the nature of our business relationship. Much like understanding my audience now, when I conducted my experiment I was able to use a relevant music video that most of the sample group would know and understand. This process clearly shows I was able to understand my audience prior to conducting my experiment.
I now also work to analyze many different sets of data to dig into service issues, and pro actively prevent problems. This class was a building block for understanding how analyzing data can lead to problem resolution. Finding the right set of data, or research in this case was very important in order to formulate a research question.

About Randy Otis

My goal is to help everyone understand what i've learned and how i've progressed through different learning experiences at Carroll University.

Posted on December 14, 2012, in Carroll University Portfolio, Spring Semester 2009 - Learning Outcome #3. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

disantoandassociates1

Cost Optimization & Out of the Box Distribution Practices

The Carroll U Experience

World Health Medicine

The Carroll U Experience

Business Fundas

The Carroll U Experience

Randy Otis's E Portfolio

The Carroll U Experience

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

